open

Science Fiction, Fantasy & Horror Forums

You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )

Random quote: A great many people think they are thinking when they are merely rearranging their prejudices. -- William James
- (Added by: gallyangel)

Fantasy Recommendations
Moderators: Admin

Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [25 messages per page]
View previous thread :: View next thread
   General Discussion -> SF/F/H ChatMessage format

gwatzn
Posted 2012-12-18 3:54 PM (#4414)
Subject: Fantasy Recommendations

New User

Hello, this is my first post here. I'm relatively new to reading fantasy literature, though I've been a lifelong fan of sci-fi. Despite reading Tolkein and everything by E.R Burroughs I could get my hands on as an adolescent, I hadn't read much in the genre until picking up the Song of Ice and Fire a few years ago. I found that I really enjoy well written fantasy and I've been reading it voraciously but I feel like I may be running out of truly great books. I like stories about wizards and elves traveling on quests, mysterious realms with ancient forests, that kind of thing, not so much the modernist detective story type that tries to reinvent the genre. However, I'm hoping for good writing as well. I had a good riff going with LeGuin's Wizard of Earthsea series, followed by the G.R.R. Martin canon followed by Rothfuss' Kingkiller Chronicles, followed by Robin Hobb's Farseer Trilogy. Now I'm simultaneously reading Sanderson's Mistborn and Brooks' Sword of Shannara and finding the writing really lacking. I'm wondering if anyone has suggestions for books I may have missed that fit somewhat into the mold of Tolkeinesque world-building high fantasy but have great writing as well. I am considering Jordan's Wheel of Time series, but I'm concerned with the fact that it is taken over by Brandon Sanderson who has a style I find lacking in descriptive and emotional power.

Anyway, thanks for any ideas/recommendations....