Upgrade to a better browser, please.

Science Fiction, Fantasy & Horror Authors

Bruce Coville

Added By: gallyangel
Last Updated: gallyangel

Bruce Coville

Search for this author through Search for this author on Search for this author on
Full Name: Bruce Farrington Coville
Born: May 16, 1950
Syracuse, New York, USA
Occupation: Writer
Nationality: American


Bruce Coville is an American author of children's and young adult novels.

As a child, Coville was an avid reader. Mary Poppins, Dr. Dolittle, and children's serials such as Nancy Drew and The Hardy Boys were among his favorite books. He discovered his passion for writing in the sixth grade, and at seventeen, began to pursue writing seriously. He attended Duke University and then went to live in New York City.

Before he was able to support himself as a writer, Coville worked a variety of jobs, including toymaking, gravedigging, and finally teaching at an elementary school.

His first published story was The Foolish Giant. He is most famous for his Unicorn Chronicles series, My Teacher Is an Alien, Aliens Ate My Homework, and Magic Shop series. Other lesser-known series include: Space Brat, Camp Haunted Hills, I Was a Sixth Grade Alien, The A.I. Gang, Moongobble and Me, and Nina Tanleven. His work has been featured in numerous anthologies and collections, including A Glory of Unicorns, Half Human, Herds of Thunder, Manes of Gold, The Unicorn Treasury, and The Dragon Book. Anthologies created entirely from his own writing are Coville's Book of Fear, Oddly Enough, Odder Than Ever, Odds Are Good, and Oddest of All.

The Sixth Grade Alien series was illustrated by Tony Sansevero, and was eventually the basis for a television series on Fox Family in the United States and YTV in Canada.

Coville has also written picture books, retellings of William Shakespeare, and three children's plays - The Dragonslayers, Out of the Blue, and It's Midnight, Do You Know Where Your Toys Are?, all three of which are musicals. He also co-wrote the young-adult novel Armageddon Summer with Jane Yolen.

He is the founder of Full Cast Audio, an audio book company producing unabridged recordings of children's and young adult books, using full casts rather than solo readers. Authors who have worked with FCA include Elizabeth Winthrop, James Howe, Kristin Cashore, Shannon Hale, and Tamora Pierce, who wrote an original novel called Melting Stones specifically for the company to record before the print edition was made public.

Works in the WWEnd Database

 Non Series Works


 Magic Shop

 1. (1987)
 2. (1991)
 3. (1992)
 4. (1997)
 5. (2003)

 Philip José Farmer's The Dungeon

 2. (1989)