Upgrade to a better browser, please.

Science Fiction, Fantasy & Horror Authors

Silvina Ocampo

Added By: Engelbrecht
Last Updated: Engelbrecht

Silvina Ocampo

Search for this author through Search for this author on Search for this author on
Full Name: Silvina Ocampo
Born: July 28, 1903
Died: December 14, 1993
Occupation: Poet and writer
Nationality: Argentinian


Silvina Ocampo Aguirre (July 28, 1903 - December 14, 1993) was an Argentine poet and short-fiction writer.

Ocampo was born in Buenos Aires, the youngest of the six children of Manuel Ocampo and Ramona Aguirre. She was educated at home by tutors. One of her sisters was Victoria Ocampo, the publisher of the literarily important Argentine magazine Sur. She studied drawing in Paris under Giorgio de Chirico. She was married to Adolfo Bioy Casares, whose lover she became (1933) when Bioy was 19. They were married in 1940. In 1954 she adopted Bioy's daughter with another woman, Marta Bioy Ocampo (1954-94), who was killed in an automobile accident just three weeks after Silvina Ocampo's death, leaving two children. The estate of Silvina Ocampo and Adolfo Bioy Casares was recently (as of 2006) awarded by a Buenos Aires court to yet another love child of Adolfo Bioy Casares, Fabián Bioy. Fabián Bioy died, aged 40, in February 2006.

Ocampo began as a writer with the book of short stories Viaje olvidado in 1937, and followed up with three books of poetry, Enumeración de la patria, Espacios métricos and Los sonetos del jardín. With Espacios métricos, which had been published in 1942 by the publishing house Sur, she won the Premio Municipal in 1954. She won the second prize in the National Poetry Comptetition for Los nombres in 1953 and came back to win the first place prize in 1962 with Lo amargo por dulce.

Co-authored with Adolfo Bioy Casares, Ocampo published Los que aman, odian, in 1946, and with Juan Rodolfo Wilcock she published the theatrical work Los Traidores in 1956. With Borges and Bioy Casares, Ocampo co-authored the celebrated Antología de la literatura fantástica (The Book of Fantasy) in 1940, and also the Antología poética Argentina in 1941.

Works in the WWEnd Database

 Non Series Works