Upgrade to a better browser, please.

Science Fiction, Fantasy & Horror Authors

Janet Morris

Added By: Rhondak101
Last Updated: Rhondak101

Janet Morris

Search for this author through Search for this author on Search for this author on
Full Name: Janet Ellen Morris
Born: May 25, 1946
Occupation: Writer, defense analyst
Nationality: American


Janet Ellen Morris is an American author of fiction and nonfiction, best known for her fantasy and science fiction and her authorship of a non-lethal weapons concept for the U.S. military.

Janet Morris began writing in 1976 and has since published more than 40 novels, many co-authored with her husband Chris Morris or others. Her debut novel, written as Janet E. Morris, was High Couch of Silistra, the first in a quartet of character-driven novels with a female protagonist. According to original publisher Bantam Books, the Silistra quartet had over four million copies in print when the fourth volume, The Carnelian Throne was published. Charles N. Brown, Locus Magazine, is quoted on the Baen Books reissues of the series as saying, "Engrossing characters in a marvelous adventure."

Morris has contributed short fiction to the shared universe fantasy series Thieves World, in which she created the Sacred Band of Stepsons, a mythical unit of ancient fighters modeled on the Sacred Band of Thebes.

She created, orchestrated, and edited the Bangsian fantasy series Heroes in Hell, writing stories for the series as well as co-writing the related novel, The Little Helliad, with Chris Morris.

Most of her fiction work has been in the fantasy and science fiction genres, although she has also written historical and other novels. Her 1983 book "I, the Sun", a detailed biographical novel about the Hittite King Suppiluliuma I was praised for its historical accuracy; O.M. Gurney, Hittite scholar and author of "The Hittites," commented that "the author is familiar with every aspect of Hittite culture."

Morris has written, contributed to, or edited several book-length works of non-fiction, as well as papers and articles on non-lethal weapons, developmental military technology and other defense and national security topics.

Works in the WWEnd Database

 Non Series Works


 ARC Riders

 1. (1995)
 2. (1996)

 Heroes in Hell

 1. (1986)
 2. (1986)
 3. (1986)
 4. (1987)
 5. (1987)
 7. (1987)
 8. (1987)
 9. (1988)
 10. (1988)
 11. (1989)
 12. (1989)
 13. (2011)
 14. (2012)
 16. (2013)
 17. (2014)
 18. (2015)
 20. (2017)
 22. (2018)

 Kerrion Empire

 1. (1980)
 2. (1981)
 3. (1982)

 Sam Yates

 1. (1987)
 2. (1989)


 1. (1977)
 2. (1977)
 3. (1978)
 4. (1979)

 Thieves' World: Sacred Band of Stepsons: Beyond Series

 1. (1985)
 2. (1986)
 3. (1986)

 Thieves' World: Tempus

 1. (1987)
 2. (1988)
 3. (1989)
 4. (1990)


 1. (1990)
 2. (1992)
 3. (1994)