open
Upgrade to a better browser, please.

Science Fiction, Fantasy & Horror Books

A Scientific Romance

Added By: gallyangel
Last Updated: gallyangel

A Scientific Romance

Purchase this book through IndieBound.org Purchase this book from Amazon.com Purchase this book from Amazon.co.uk
Author: Ronald Wright
Publisher: Black Swan, 2002
Picador, 1999
Anchor, 1997
Series:

This book does not appear to be part of a series. If this is incorrect, and you know the name of the series to which it belongs, please let us know.

Submit Series Details

Book Type: Novel
Genre: Science-Fiction
Sub-Genre Tags: Time Travel
Awards:  
Lists:  
Links:
Avg Member Rating:
(1 reads / 0 ratings)




Synopsis

It is 1999, and David Lambert, jilted lover and reluctant museum curator, is about to discover the startling news of the return of H. G. Well's time machine to London. Motivated by a host of unanswered questions and innate curiosity, he propels himself deep into the next millennium: an England ruined by mysterious civil war, now returned to wilderness. As he sets foot in a luxuriant but menacing new landscape, he also explores the ruins of his life, a labyrinth of erotic obsession and remorse involving his old friend Bird - jazz musician, classicist, and small-time crook - and Anita, the beautiful, eccentric Egyptologist they both loved, mysteriously dead at 32.

For readers of H. G. Wells, J. G. Ballard, and Aldous Huxley, this novel is an odyssey through human error, an evocation of beloved books and authors, and an unforgettable vision of the end - and renewal - of civilization.


Excerpt

No excerpt currently exists for this novel. Be the first to submit one!

Submit an Excerpt


Reviews

There are currently no reviews for this novel. Be the first to submit one! You must be logged in to submit a review in the BookTrackr section above.


Images

No alternate cover images currently exist for this novel. Be the first to submit one!