Upgrade to a better browser, please.

Science Fiction, Fantasy & Horror Books

The Man Who Walked Through Cracks:  The Collected Short Fiction, Volume Five

Added By: Scott Laz
Last Updated: Administrator

The Man Who Walked Through Cracks: The Collected Short Fiction, Volume Five

Purchase this book through Purchase this book from Purchase this book from
Author: R. A. Lafferty
Publisher: Centipede Press, 2019
Series: The Collected Short Fiction of R. A. Lafferty: Book 5
Book Type: Collection
Genre: Science-Fiction / Fantasy
Sub-Genre Tags:
Avg Member Rating:
(1 reads / 0 ratings)


In a career that began in 1959 and continued until his death in 2002, R.A. Lafferty garnered the admiration of authors and editors including Robert A.W. Lowndes, Harlan Ellison, A.A. Attanasio, Gene Wolfe, Michael Swanwick and many, many others. His body of short fiction is comprised of well over 200 stories and, despite his vast popularity, there was never a concerted effort made to produce a comprehensive collection of his short fiction, until now.

Welcome to the fifth volume of the Lafferty Library, a series that will run to a dozen volumes and collect all of R.A. Lafferty's short fiction. As with all previous volumes, this collection, assembled by series editor John Pelan, brings together a delightful blend of the familiar, the esoteric, the known and the obscure. In this volume you'll find his well-known characters, such as The Men Who Knew Everything; represented here by "Mud Violet" and "Barnaby's Clock"; the wondrous Argos Mythos (considered by many to be among Lafferty's finest works), are featured with a rare treat, the novella "How Many Miles to Babylon?", which has never previously appeared in any R. A. Lafferty collection. We even feature an appearance by that most venerable of think-tanks, The Institute for Impure Science, with the novelette "Flaming Ducks and Giant Bread."

From the enthusiastic introduction by Michael Kurland and the titular novelette from 1978, and all the way back to Lafferty's second prose sale, "Adam Had Three Brothers," this volume also includes an interview conducted with Lafferty by Robert J. Whitaker and an afterword by series editor, John Pelan.



No excerpt currently exists for this novel.


There are currently no reviews for this novel. Be the first to submit one! You must be logged in to submit a review in the BookTrackr section above.


No alternate cover images currently exist for this novel.