Upgrade to a better browser, please.

Search Worlds Without End

Advanced Search
Search Terms:
Author: [x] Sterling E. Lanier
Locus SF
Locus F
Locus FN
Aurealis SF
Aurealis F
Aurealis H
Locus YA
Red Tentacle
Golden Tentacle
All Awards
Date Range:  to 

Sterling E. Lanier

A Father's Tale

Brigadier Ffellowes

Sterling E. Lanier

WFA nominated novelette. It originally appeared in The Magazine of Fantasy and Science Fiction, July 1974. The story can also be found in the anthologies First World Fantasy Awards (1977), edited by Gahan Wilson, and Sherlock Holmes Through Time and Space (1984), edited by Martin Harry Greenberg, Charles G. Waugh and Isaac Asimov. It is included in the collection The Curious Quests of Brigadier Ffellowes (1986).

The Peculiar Exploits of Brigadier Ffellowes

Brigadier Ffellowes: Book 1

Sterling E. Lanier

Who is Brigadier Ffellows? Soldier, paleontologist,adventurer. Someone who lives at the lost fringes of the planet, and a focal point for the supernatural and sometimes dark forces that lie unknown in the hidden corners of the world. As the retired Brigadier tells his stories at the club, he is often initially scoffed at, but as the tales continue, silence fills the room and the bravest of men begin to shudder as they absorb the all too real terror of Ffellows adventures. Listen yourself and see how well YOU sleep afterwards.

Table of Contents:

  • Introduction - essay by Arthur C. Clarke
  • His Only Safari - (1970)
  • The Kings of the Sea - (1968)
  • His Coat So Gay - (1965)
  • The Leftovers - (1969)
  • A Feminine Jurisdiction - (1969)
  • Fraternity Brother - (1969)
  • Soldier Key - (1968)

The Curious Quests of Brigadier Ffellowes

Brigadier Ffellowes: Book 2

Sterling E. Lanier

The legend continues, with Brigadier Ffellowes returning in this second volume, with six new tales of terror just as bone chilling and unearthly as the first. Strange creatures, bizarre circumstances, a brush with the supernatural, and Ffellowes actually finds a wife !!! If it's possible, this book is even harder to put down than the first volume!

Table of Contents:

  • The Curious Quests of Brigadier Ffellowes - essay by Ned Dameron
  • Introduction - essay by Donald M. Grant
  • Fore/Thought/Word - essay by Sterling E. Lanier
  • Ghost of a Crown - (1976) - novelette
  • And the Voice of the Turtle ... - (1972) - novelette
  • A Father's Tale - (1974) - novelette
  • Commander in the Mist - (1982) - short story
  • Thinking of the Unthinkable - (1973) - short story
  • The Brigadier in Check -- and Mate - novella

Can't find the Sterling E. Lanier book you're looking for? Let us know the title and we'll add it to the database.