Upgrade to a better browser, please.

Search Worlds Without End

Advanced Search
Search Terms:
Locus SF
Locus F
Locus FN
Aurealis SF
Aurealis F
Aurealis H
Locus YA
Red Tentacle
Golden Tentacle
All Awards
Date Range:  to 

Search Results Returned:  4

A Deskful of Girls

Change War

Fritz Leiber

Hugo Award nominated novelette. It originally appeared in The Magazine of Fantasy and Science Fiction, April 1958. The story can also be found in the anthologies The Best from Fantasy and Science Fiction, Eighth Series (1959), edited by Anthony Boucher, and Dark Stars (1969) edited by Robert Silverberg. It is included in the collections The Best of Fritz Leiber (1974), The Ghost Light (1984) and Fritz Leiber: Selected Stories (2010).


Change War

Fritz Leiber

Contains all of the Change War short fiction with the exception of "The Mind Spider", "The Number of the Beast" and "Black Corridor".

It is happening right now: the war through Time. The battleground is the eternal present. The objective is to alter the past. And the goal is to seize control of the future. The warriors are ordinary people, like yourself...

Table of Contents:

  • Try and Change the Past (1958) - short story
  • The Oldest Soldier (1960) - short story
  • Damnation Morning (1959) - short story
  • When the Change-Winds Blow (1964) - short story
  • Knight to Move (1965) - short story
  • A Deskful of Girls (1958) - novelette
  • No Great Magic (1963) - novella

The Mind Spider and Other Stories

Change War

Fritz Leiber

A collection of Leiber's Change War stories. Originally appeared as half of Ace Double D-491 (1961). This edition has a slightly different table of contents.

Table of Contents

  • Foreword (The Mind Spider and Other Stories) - (1961) - essay by Fritz Leiber
  • The Haunted Future - (1959) - novelette by Fritz Leiber
  • Damnation Morning - [Change War] - (1959) - short story by Fritz Leiber
  • The Oldest Soldier - [Change War] - (1960) - short story by Fritz Leiber
  • Midnight in the Mirror World - (1964) - short story by Fritz Leiber
  • The Number of the Beast - [Change War] - (1958) - short story by Fritz Leiber
  • The Mind Spider - [Change War] - (1959) - short story by Fritz Leiber

Archangel's War

Guild Hunter: Book 12

Nalini Singh

Return to the darkly passionate Guild Hunter world, where human-turned-angel Elena Deveraux, consort to Archangel Raphael, faces a new challenge that threatens the balance of the world.

Wings of silver. Wings of blue. Mortal heart. Broken dreams. Shatter. Shatter. Shatter. A sundering. A grave. I see the end. I see....

The world is in chaos as the power surge of the Cascade rises to a devastating crescendo. In furiously resisting its attempts to turn Elena into a vessel for Raphael's power, Elena and her archangel are irrevocably changed... far beyond the prophecy of a cursed Ancient.

At the same time, violent and eerie events around the world threaten to wipe out entire populations. And in the Archangel Lijuan's former territory, an unnatural fog weaves through the land, leaving only a bone-chilling silence in its wake. Soon it becomes clear that even the archangels are not immune to this deadly evil. This time, even the combined power of the Cadre may not be enough....

This war could end them all.