Upgrade to a better browser, please.

Search Worlds Without End

Advanced Search
Search Terms:
Locus SF
Locus F
Locus FN
Aurealis SF
Aurealis F
Aurealis H
Locus YA
Red Tentacle
Golden Tentacle
All Awards
Date Range:  to 

Search Results Returned:  3

GRRM: A RRetrospective

Dreamsongs / RRetrospective

George R. R. Martin

This is an "omnibus" edition of all the stories subsequently published in Dreamsongs 1 & 2

Table of Contents:

A Four-Color Fanboy
1 "Only Kids Are Afraid of the Dark" 1967
2 "The Fortress" 2003 Written in the 1960s
3 "And Death His Legacy" 2003 Written in the 1960s

The Filthy Pro
4 "The Hero" 1971 "A Song for Lya" (1976)
5 "The Exit to San Breta" 1972 "A Song for Lya" (1976)
6 "The Second Kind of Loneliness" 1972 "A Song for Lya" (1976) "Portraits of His Children (1987)
7 "With Morning Comes Mistfall" 1973 "A Song for Lya" (1976) "Portraits of His Children (1987)

The Light of Distant Stars
8 "A Song for Lya" 1974 "A Song for Lya" (1976) "Nightflyers" (1985)
9 "This Tower of Ashes" 1976 "Songs of Stars and Shadows" (1977) "Songs the Dead Men Sing" (1983)
10 "And Seven Times Never Kill Man" 1975 "Songs of Stars and Shadows" (1977) "Nightflyers" (1985)
11 "The Stone City" 1977 "Sandkings" (1981)
12 "Bitterblooms" 1977 "Sandkings" (1981)
13 "The Way of Cross and Dragon" 1979 "Sandkings" (1981)

The Heirs of Turtle Castle
14 "The Lonely Songs of Laren Dorr" 1976 "Songs of Stars and Shadows" (1977) "Portraits of His Children" (1987)
15 "The Ice Dragon" 1980 "Portraits of His Children" (1987)
16 "In the Lost Lands" 1982 "Portraits of His Children" (1987)

Hybrids and Horrors
17 "Meathouse Man" 1976 "Songs the Dead Men Sing" (1983)
18 "Remembering Melody" 1981 "Songs the Dead Men Sing" (1983)
19 "Sandkings" 1979 "Sandkings" (1981) "Songs the Dead Men Sing" (1983)
20 "Nightflyers" 1980 "Songs the Dead Men Sing" (1983) "Nightflyers" (1985)
21 "The Monkey Treatment" 1983 "Songs the Dead Men Sing" (1983)
22 "The Pear-Shaped Man" 1987 Previously uncollected

A Taste of Tuf
This section features two stories in the Haviland Tuf series, about an overweight space trader encountering various civilizations.
23 "A Beast for Norn" 1976 "Tuf Voyaging" (1986)
24 "Guardians" 1981 "Tuf Voyaging" (1986)

The Siren Song of Hollywood
This section features two television screenplays by George R. R. Martin. The former is a script for an episode of The Twilight Zone, and the latter is a pilot for a never-made science fiction series similar to Sliders.
25 "The Road Less Travelled" 1986
26 "Doorways" 1993

Doing the Wild Card Shuffle
This section features two of George R. R. Martin's contributions to the Wild Cards shared universe.
27 "Shell Games" 1987
28 "From the Journal of Xavier Desmond" 1988

The Heart in Conflict
29 "Under Siege" 1985 "Portraits of His Children" (1987)
30 "The Skin Trade" 1988 "Quartet" (2001)
31 "Unsound Variations" 1982 "Portraits of His Children" (1987)
32 "The Glass Flower" 1986 "Portraits of His Children" (1987)
33 "The Hedge Knight" 1998 Previously uncollected
34 "Portraits of His Children" 1985 "Portraits of His Children" (1987)

Dreamsongs Volume I: A RRetrospective

Dreamsongs / RRetrospective: Book 1

George R. R. Martin

Even before A Game of Thrones, George R. R. Martin had already established himself as a giant in the field of fantasy literature. The first of two stunning collections, Dreamsongs: Volume I is a rare treat for readers, offering fascinating insight into his journey from young writer to award-winning master.

Gathered here in Dreamsongs: Volume I are the very best of George R. R. Martin's early works, including his Hugo, Nebula, and Bram Stoker award-winning stories, cool fan pieces, and the original novella The Ice Dragon, from which Martin's New York Times bestselling children's book of the same title originated. A dazzling array of subjects and styles that features extensive author commentary, Dreamsongs, Volume I is the perfect collection for both Martin devotees and a new generation of fans.

Dreamsongs Volume II: A RRetrospective

Dreamsongs / RRetrospective: Book 2

George R. R. Martin

Dubbed "the American Tolkien" by Time magazine, number-one New York Times best-selling author George R. R. Martin is a giant in the field of fantasy literature and one of the most exciting storytellers of our time. Now he delivers a rare treat for listeners: a compendium of his shorter works, collected into two stunning volumes, that offers fascinating insight into his journey from young writer to award-winning master.

BONUS: Each selection includes extensive commentary by author George R. R. Martin.