Upgrade to a better browser, please.

Search Worlds Without End

Advanced Search
Search Terms:
Locus SF
Locus F
Locus FN
Aurealis SF
Aurealis F
Aurealis H
Locus YA
Red Tentacle
Golden Tentacle
All Awards
Date Range:  to 

Search Results Returned:  4

A Cavern of Black Ice

Sword of Shadows: Book 1

J. V. Jones

In Spire Vanis, an uncrowned ruler steals magic from tortured captives, while an innocent girl is haunted by nightmares of ice. On the frigid steppes, two brothers find their kinsmen slain by swords that draw no blood. At a remote homestead, a hardened warrior leaves his family to follow a raven's summons.

And in a deadly wilderness where nature and the gods have no mercy, two young fugitives will confront the unfolding of an apocalyptic prophecy.

A Fortress of Grey Ice

Sword of Shadows: Book 2

J. V. Jones

Ash March knew Raif Sevrance was special from the moment he helped rescue her from the tyranny of her foster father in the city of Spire Vanis. Like her, Raif was an outcast. Though from different worlds, he from the clanholds, she from the fortress city, their lives were somehow entwined by fate and by the need of the cold, dark north of their world. It has been a thousand years since the dreaded Endlords have tried to breach the boundary between the living and the dead, but now the forces that hold back the damned souls of the dead have weakened; new heroes must emerge to combat this terrible threat.

Raif, wrongly accused and cast out of his clan by the treachery of their new headsman. Ash, raised as a foundling, is a warrior sacred to the Sull, an ancient race who once ruled the north. But raised in isolation, she must learn and accept the power and responsibility of her heritage.

As Ash learns of the role she must fulfill, Raifs task looms dark and desperate: he must journey through the nightmare realm of the desolate Want, where even the Sull fear to tread. For deep within the Want is the Fortress of Grey Ice, and there he must heal the breach in the Blindwall that already threatens the world. Should he fail, not even Ash's powers can save them.

A Sword from Red Ice

Sword of Shadows: Book 3

J. V. Jones

The Long Night has begun. The Endlords and their dark army of Unmade prepare to unleash untold destruction upon the world. Every Sull warrior must step forward and fight, or risk the North falling into eternal darkness.

Key to mankind's survival is the sacred warrior Ash March. But for Ash to realise her true potential as a Reach, and become the Sull's greatest weapon, she must keep herself safe as the perils that surround her multiply. Raif Sevrance has an equally perilous task. The exile must travel to the barren wastes of the Red Glaciers and recover the legendary sword named Loss. For Sull legend decrees that he who wields the Sword from Red Ice will bring terror to their enemies.

But fulfilment of these goals may yet come too late. In the remote reaches of the Bitter Hills, the Endlords' minions have made a cataclysmic discovery: a crack in the Blindwall, an ancient and unguarded passage leading directly into the realms of men.

Watcher of the Dead

Sword of Shadows: Book 4

J. V. Jones

In the frigid wasteland of the north, Raif Sevrance, Watcher of the Dead, has endured many trials to lay claim to the renowned sword known as Loss. But the price of wielding the legendary weapon is high, and Raif is unsure if he is willing to pay it. Ash Marsh, Daughter of the Sull, still struggles to come to terms with her heritage, and the knowledge that the Watcher, armed with Loss, could be the one who will save the Sull, or end them. Raina Blackhail, widow of a murdered ruler and wife of his brutal successor, has seen her clan disgraced and has, herself, taken up the mantle of chief. But there are enemies both beyond her gates and within. And in the murky swamps of the Stillwater, two children will learn the secrets of the Marsh clan. Secrets so old they threaten everything.