Upgrade to a better browser, please.

Search Worlds Without End

Advanced Search
Search Terms:
Locus SF
Locus F
Locus FN
Aurealis SF
Aurealis F
Aurealis H
Locus YA
Red Tentacle
Golden Tentacle
All Awards
Date Range:  to 

Search Results Returned:  10

Seven Ways of Looking at the Sun-Worshippers of Yul-Katan

Maggie Clark

This novelette originally appeared in Analog Science Fiction and Fact, April 2016. It can also be found in the anthology The Year's Best Science Fiction & Fantasy 2017, edited by Rich Horton.

The Worshipful Society of Glovers

Mary Robinette Kowal

This novelette originally appeared in Uncanny Magazine, Issue 17, July-August 2017. It can also be found in the anthology The Best Science Fiction and Fantasy of the Year: Volume Twelve (2018), edited by Jonathan Strahan.

Read the full story for free at Uncanny Magazine.

Worship the Night

Mary Vigliante

Her mother's death freed Lea from a lifetime of repression and frigidity, only to make her the helpless prey of wild fantasies and nightmare terror. Alone in her mountain cabin retreat, Lea's body and her very soul are subjugated by a phantom from the depths of Hell, who demands that she worship at his evil shrine. To transform the demon into the flesh-and-blood lover she craves. Lea is forced to commit crime after hideous crime, until she realizes that only the ultimate sacrifice will satisfy her Master's lust!

The Worshippers and the Way

Chronicles of an Age of Darkness: Book 9

Hugh Cook

This ninth book of a fantasy series is also a complete story in itself. Asodo Hatch and Lupur Lon Oliver compete for the position of instructor at Combat College, which produces Startroopers for the Stormforce of the Nexus. One has to defeat the other in combat within the illusion tanks.

Heroine Worship

Heroine Complex: Book 2

Sarah Kuhn

Once upon a time, Aveda Jupiter (aka Annie Chang) was demon-infested San Francisco's most beloved superheroine, a beacon of hope and strength and really awesome outfits. But all that changed the day she agreed to share the spotlight with her best friend and former assistant Evie Tanaka--who's now a badass, fire-wielding superheroine in her own right. They were supposed to be a dynamic duo, but more and more, Aveda finds herself shoved into the sidekick role. Where, it must be said, she is not at all comfortable.

It doesn't help that Aveda's finally being forced to deal with fallout from her diva behavior--and the fact that she's been a less than stellar friend to Evie. Or that Scott Cameron--the man Aveda's loved for nearly a decade--is suddenly giving her the cold shoulder after what seemed to be some promising steps toward friendship. Or that the city has been demon-free for three months in the wake of Evie and Aveda's apocalypse-preventing battle against the evil forces of the Otherworld, leaving Aveda without the one thing she craves most in life: a mission.

The Pandora Sequence


Frank Herbert
Bill Ransom


  • The Jesus Incident - (1979) - novel by Frank Herbert and Bill Ransom
  • The Lazarus Effect - (1983) - novel by Frank Herbert and Bill Ransom
  • The Ascension Factor - (1988) - novel by Frank Herbert and Bill Ransom

Destination: Void

WorShip: Book 1

Frank Herbert

The starship Earthling, filled with thousands of hybernating colonists en route to a new world at Tau Ceti, is stranded beyond the solar system when the ship's three Organic Mental Cores--disembodied human brains that control the vessel's functions--go insane. An emergency skeleton crew sees only one chance for survival: to create an artificial consciousness in the Earthling's primary computer, which could guide them to their destination... or could destroy the human race.

The Jesus Incident

WorShip: Book 2

Frank Herbert
Bill Ransom

A sentient Ship with godlike powers (and aspirations) delivers the last survivors of humanity to a horrific, poisonous planet, Pandora--rife with deadly Nerve-Runners, Hooded Dashers, airborne jellyfish, and intelligent kelp. Chaplain/Psychiatrist Raja Lon Flattery is brought back out of hybernation to witness Ship's machinations as well as the schemes of human scientists manipulating the genetic structure of humanity. Sequel to Frank Herbert's Destination: Void, the first book in Herbert & Ransom's Pandora Sequence.

The Lazarus Effect

WorShip: Book 3

Frank Herbert
Bill Ransom

The Lazarus Effect (1983) is the third science fiction novel set in the Destination: Void universe by the American author Frank Herbert and poet Bill Ransom. It takes place some time after the events in The Jesus Incident.

The Ascension Factor

WorShip: Book 4

Frank Herbert
Bill Ransom

The Ascension Factor (1988) is the fourth and final science fiction novel set in the Destination: Void universe by the American author Frank Herbert and poet Bill Ransom. It takes place about twenty five years after The Lazarus Effect. It completes the story of the humans descended from those left by the Voidship Earthling on the planet Pandora approximately 480 years earlier.