Upgrade to a better browser, please.

Science Fiction, Fantasy & Horror Authors

Steven Brust

Added By: Administrator
Last Updated: valashain

Steven Brust

Search for this author through Search for this author on Search for this author on
Full Name: Steven Karl Zoltan Brust
Born: November 23, 1955
St. Paul, Minnesota, USA
Occupation: Writer
Nationality: American


Born in Minneapolis, Minnesota, and raised in a family of Hungarian labor organizers, Steven Brust worked as a musician and a computer programmer before coming to prominence as a writer in 1983 with Jhereg, the first of his novels about Vlad Taltos, a human professional assassin in a world dominated by long-lived, magically-empowered human-like "Dragaerans." Over the next several years, several more "Taltos" novels followed, interspersed with other work, including To Reign in Hell, a fantasy re-working of Milton's war in Heaven; The Sun, the Moon, and the Stars, a contemporary fantasy based on Hungarian folktales; and a science fiction novel, Cowboy Feng's Space Bar and Grille. The most recent "Taltos" novels are Dragon and Issola. In 1991, with The Phoenix Guards, Brust began another series, set a thousand years earlier than the Taltos books; its sequels are Five Hundred Years After and the three volumes of "The Viscount of Adrilankha": The Paths of the Dead, The Lord of Castle Black, and Sethra Lavode.While writing, Brust has continued to work as a musician, playing drums for the legendary band Cats Laughing and recording an album of his own work, A Rose for Iconoclastes. He lives in Las Vegas, Nevada where he pursues an ongoing interest in stochastics.

Works in the WWEnd Database

 Non Series Works


 Chronicles of the Borderlands

 0. (1998)

 The Incrementalists

 0. (2013)
 1. (2013)
 2. (2017)

 Khaavren Romances

 1. (1991)
 2. (1994)
 3. (2002)
 4. (2003)
 5. (2004)
 6. (2020)

 Terri Windling's Fairy Tales

 8. (1987)

 Vlad Taltos

 1. (1983)
 2. (1984)
 3. (1987)
 4. (1988)
 5. (1990)
 6. (1993)
 7. (1996)
 8. (1998)
 9. (2001)
 10. (2006)
 11. (2008)
 12. (2010)
 13. (2011)
 14. (2014)
 15. (2017)
 16. (2023)
 17. (2024)