Upgrade to a better browser, please.

Science Fiction, Fantasy & Horror Authors

Peter Haining

Added By: Engelbrecht
Last Updated: Engelbrecht

Peter Haining

Search for this author through Search for this author on Search for this author on
Full Name: Peter Alexander Haining
Born: April 2, 1940
Enfield, Middlesex, England
Died: November 19, 2007
Occupation: Journalist, author and anthologist
Nationality: English


Peter Alexander Haining was a British journalist, author and anthologist who lived and worked in Suffolk.

Born in Enfield, Middlesex, Haining began his career as a reporter in Essex and then moved to London where he worked on a trade magazine before joining the publishing house of New English Library in 1963. He achieved the position of Editorial Director before becoming a full-time writer in the early 1970s.

He edited more than one hundred anthologies, predominantly of horror and fantasy short stories, wrote non-fiction books on a variety of topics from the Channel Tunnel to Sweeney Todd and also used the pen names "Ric Alexander" and "Richard Peyton" on a number of crime story anthologies. In the 1970s he wrote three novels, including The Hero (1973), which was optioned for filming.

He wrote several reference books on the BBC TV programme Doctor Who, including the 20th anniversary special Doctor Who: A Celebration Two Decades Through Time and Space (1983), and also wrote the definitive study of Sherlock Holmes on the screen, The Television Sherlock Holmes (1991) and several other television tie-ins featuring famous literary characters, including Maigret, Poirot, Dr. Finlay and James Bond. Peter Haining's most recent project was a series of World War Two stories based on extensive research and personal interviews: The Jail That Went To Sea (2003), The Mystery of Rommel's Gold (2004), Where The Eagle Landed (2004), The Chianti Raiders (2005) and The Banzai Hunters (2007).

He won the British Fantasy Awards Karl Edward Wagner Award in 2001.

Works in the WWEnd Database

 Non Series Works


 Comic Tales of Fantasy

 1. (1996)
 2. (1997)
 3. (1998)