Upgrade to a better browser, please.

Science Fiction, Fantasy & Horror Authors

Dave Duncan

Added By: Administrator
Last Updated: illegible_scribble

Dave Duncan

Search for this author through Search for this author on Search for this author on
Full Name: David John Duncan
Born: June 30, 1933
Newport-on-Tay, Fife, Scotland, UK
Died: October 29, 2018
Vancouver Island, Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
Occupation: Writer, Geologist
Nationality: Scottish Canadian


David John Duncan was a Scottish Canadian fantasy and science fiction author born in Newport-on-Tay, Scotland and educated at the High School of Dundee before studying geology at the University of St Andrews. After graduating in 1955, Duncan moved to Calgary, Alberta, becoming a Canadian citizen in 1960.

Duncan pursued a career as a geologist in the petroleum industry for nearly three decades before he started writing science fiction and fantasy novels. He made his first sale two years later in 1986 at the age of 53, just two weeks after his 31-year career as a geologist came to an end due to a slump in the oil business, at which point he switched to full-time writing.

Duncan penned over fifty books, twice won the Prix Aurora award, was a member of SF Canada, and in 2015 he was inducted into the Canadian Science Fiction and Fantasy Hall of Fame. Although Duncan usually wrote under his own name, he also used the pseudonyms Ken Hood and Sarah B. Franklin.

At the time of his death, Duncan lived on Vancouver Island in Victoria, British Columbia, and had been married since 1959 to his wife, Janet, with one son, two daughters, four grandchildren, and one brother, Michael, who is a retired agriculturist.

Works in the WWEnd Database

 Non Series Works


 Chronicles of the King's Blades

 1. (2002)
 2. (2003)
 3. (2004)

 The Dodec Books

 1. (2006)
 2. (2007)

 The Enchanter General

 1. (2017)
 2. (2018)

 The Great Game

 1. (1995)
 2. (1996)
 3. (1997)

 A Handful of Men

 1. (1992)
 2. (1993)
 3. (1993)
 4. (1994)

 The King's Daggers

 1. (1999)
 2. (2000)
 3. (2001)

 A Man of His Word

 1. (1990)
 2. (1991)
 3. (1991)
 4. (1992)

 Seventh Sword

 1. (1988)
 2. (1988)
 3. (1988)
 4. (2012)

 Tales of the King's Blades

 1. (1998)
 2. (1999)
 3. (2000)


No images currently exist for this author. Be the first to add one.

Submit an Image


No videos currently exist for this author. Be the first to submit a YouTube YouTube link.

Submit a Video Link from YouTube