Upgrade to a better browser, please.

Science Fiction, Fantasy & Horror Authors

Jim Grimsley

Added By: gallyangel
Last Updated: gallyangel

Jim Grimsley

Search for this author through Search for this author on Search for this author on
Full Name: Jim Grimsley
Born: September 21, 1955
Rocky Mount, North Carolina, USA
Occupation: Writer, Playwright
Nationality: American


Jim Grimsley (born 1955) is an American novelist and playwright.

Born to a rural family in Grifton, North Carolina, Grimsley said of his childhood that "for us in the South, the family is a field where craziness grows like weeds".

After moving to Atlanta he would spend nearly twenty years as a secretary at Atlanta's Grady Memorial Hospital before joining the creative-writing faculty at Emory University. During those years, Grimsley wrote prolifically, with fourteen of his plays produced between 1983 and 1993.

His initial forays into novel writing were less successful than his dramatic work. The semiautobiographical Winter Birds was rejected as "too dark" by American publishers for ten years before appearing in a German edition; it only appeared in English sometime two years later. The novel then brought Grimsley much recognition: the Sue Kaufman Prize for First Fiction from the American Academy of Arts and Letters and a PEN/Hemingway Award citation.

It was followed by Dream Boy which received the American Library Association's Gay, Lesbian, and Bisexual Book Award for Literature (Stonewall Book Award), and My Drowning, which won the Lila Wallace-Readers Digest Writers' Award. Subsequently he wrote the high fantasy novel Kirith Kirin, which won the Lambda Literary Award, or 'Lammy', for best gay-themed science fiction or fantasy for the year 2000. This classically-themed fantasy work was followed by two science fiction novels, The Ordinary and The Last Green Tree (2006 sequel to The Ordinary). His novel Forgiveness was published in 2007. Four of Grimsley's plays are collected in Mr. Universe and Other Plays.

He was awarded the Jim Duggins Outstanding Mid-Career Novelists' Prize by the Saints and Sinners Literary Festival in 2007.

Works in the WWEnd Database

 Non Series Works


 Kirith Kirin

 1. (2000)
 2. (2004)
 3. (2006)