Upgrade to a better browser, please.

Science Fiction, Fantasy & Horror Authors

Stephanie Burgis

Added By: Administrator
Last Updated: Administrator

Stephanie Burgis

Search for this author through Search for this author on Search for this author on
Full Name: Stephanie Burgis
Occupation: Writer
Nationality: American


Stephanie Burgis grew up in East Lansing, Michigan, but now lives in Wales with her husband and two sons, surrounded by mountains, castles and coffee shops. She attended the Clarion West science fiction & fantasy writing workshop in 2001, just a year after completing her time as a Fulbright scholar at the University of Vienna, studying music history, in 1999-2000. After spending three more years as a PhD student studying opera history at the University of Leeds in the U.K. (focusing on opera and politics in 18th-century Vienna and Eszterháza, and doing the research that would later result in her first adult book, Masks and Shadows), she went to work for a British opera company and stayed there until the onset of a serious chronic illness, M.E./CFS, forced her to give up work outside the home and focus purely on her writing (and, later, on her parenting, too).

Since then, she has published over thirty short stories for adults and teens in various magazines and anthologies. Her trilogy of MG Regency fantasy novels was published in the US as the Kat, Incorrigible trilogy and in the UK as The Unladylike Adventures of Kat Stephenson. The first book in the trilogy won the Waverton Good Read Award for Best Début Children's Novel by a British writer, and the full trilogy was recently re-released in the US as A Most Improper Boxed Set. Her first historical fantasy novel for adults, Masks and Shadows, was published by Pyr Books in April 2016, her second, Congress of Secrets, will be published by Pyr Books in November 2016, and her next MG fantasy series will be published by Bloomsbury Books in both the UK and US, beginning with The Dragon with a Chocolate Heart in 2017.

Works in the WWEnd Database

 Non Series Works


 The Dragon with a Chocolate Heart

 1. (2017)
 2. (2018)
 3. (2019)

 The Harwood Spellbook

 1. (2017)
 2. (2018)
 3. (2019)
 4. (2020)


No images currently exist for this author. Be the first to add one.

Submit an Image


No videos currently exist for this author. Be the first to submit a YouTube YouTube link.

Submit a Video Link from YouTube