Upgrade to a better browser, please.

Science Fiction, Fantasy & Horror Authors

Diana Wynne Jones

Added By: Administrator
Last Updated: Administrator

Diana Wynne Jones

Search for this author through Search for this author on Search for this author on
Full Name: Diana Wynne Jones
Born: August 16, 1934
London, England
Died: March 26, 2011
Bristol, England
Occupation: Writer
Nationality: British


In a career spanning four decades, award-winning author Diana Wynne Jones wrote more than forty books of fantasy for young readers. Characterized by magic, multiple universes, witches and wizards--and a charismatic nine-lived enchanter--her books were filled with unlimited imagination, dazzling plots, and an effervescent sense of humor that earned her legendary status in the world of fantasy. From the very beginning, Diana Wynne Jones's books garnered literary accolades: her novel Dogsbody was a runner-up for the 1975 Carnegie Medal, and Charmed Life won the esteemed Guardian children's fiction prize in 1977. Since then, in addition to being translated into more than twenty languages, her books have earned a wide array of honors--including two Boston Globe-Horn Book Award Honors--and appeared on countless best-of-the-year lists. Her work also found commercial success: in 1992 the BBC adapted her novel Archer's Goon into a six-part miniseries, and her best-selling Howl's Moving Castle was made into an animated film by Japanese director Hayao Miyazaki in 2004. The film was nominated for an Academy Award in 2006, and became one of the most financially successful Japanese films in history. The author herself has also been honored with many prestigious awards for the body of her work. She was given the British Fantasy Society's Karl Edward Wagner Award in 1999 for having made a significant impact on fantasy, received a D.Lit from Bristol University in 2006, and won the Lifetime Achievement Award at the World Fantasy Convention in 2007.

Works in the WWEnd Database

 Non Series Works



 0. (2002)
 0. (2000)
 1. (1977)
 2. (1980)
 3. (1982)
 4. (1988)
 5. (2005)
 6. (2006)


 1. (1975)
 2. (1977)
 3. (1979)
 4. (1993)


 1. (1998)
 2. (2000)

 Howl's Castle

 1. (1986)
 2. (1990)
 3. (2008)


 1. (1997)
 2. (2003)


No images currently exist for this author. Be the first to add one.

Submit an Image


No videos currently exist for this author. Be the first to submit a YouTube YouTube link.

Submit a Video Link from YouTube